Invited Lectures

Stephen Mahler


Director, ARC Training Centre for Biopharmaceutical Innovation,  Associate Professor and Plan Leader Chemical and Biological Engineering, University of Queensland, Australia

 Associate Professor Stephen Mahler has made significant contributions to biopharmaceutical discovery, development and delivery, including development of technology for producing human antibody biopharmaceuticals.He received his PhD (Biochemistry)in 1989, University of Queensland, Queensland Australia. Till 2006 co-director of Bioengineering Centre, University of New South Wales. He has published more than 80 peer reviewed journal publications, 12 book chapters, he has history of strong engagement with industry, and is at present Director and Lead CI for the ARC Training Centre for Biopharmaceutical Innovation (2016-2021).

Jan Rusz


Jan Rusz

Department of Physics and Astronomy, Materials Theory , Upsala University, Sweden

He received his Ph.D. degree in 2005 at Charles University, Prague. His
research is focusing on theory of inelastic electron scattering, dynamical
electron diffraction, electronic structure calculation and magnetism. His
primary research initiatives are centered around development of a magnetic
measurement technique utilizing transmission electron microscopy - electron
magnetic circular dichroism. He authored and coauthored over 130 peer-reviewed
journal publications, cited over 2000 times (H-index = 23).


László P. Biró



Nanostructures Department from the Institute for Technical Physics and Materials Science, Centre for Energy Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary

Prof. Biró is the founder of the Nanostructures Department of ITPMS. He has been the head of the department till 2015.  He got PhD from the Technical University of Budapest in 1997, in 2005 he became Doctor of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HAS), and in 2013 was elected corresponding member of the HAS. He has worked in nanoscale materials science: STM and AFM of various nanostructures, like carbon nanoarchitectures, photonic nanoarchitectures of biologic origin. He has published more than 260 papers, he has given more than 50 invited talks, is the co-author of 3 books, several book chapters and review papers. He has received more than 5000 citations (Hindex = 39). He has been the director of a NATO Advanced Study Institute  on carbon nanotubes and contributed to organizing several international conferences and workshops.

Hatem Akbulut



Sakarya University Research and Application Center (SARGEM) at Sakarya University, Turkey

Prof Akbulut received his PhD in Materials and Metallurgy from Istanbul Technical University, Turkey in 1995. After a postdoc career at New Mexico Tech, in USA. Prof. Akbulut is head of Sakarya University Research and Application Center (SARGEM) at Sakarya University, Turkey. His current researches focused on new nano architectured electrode materials for electrochemical energy storage. He has also focused on the nanocomposite metal matrix depositions. He has participated in several international projects, including FP7, ERA-NET and bilateral projects. Prof. Akbulut attended at over 80 international conferences as a regular and invited speaker. He has published 5 book chapters and over 180 publications in various international journals, which have received more than 1400 citations.

Martin Foldyna



LPICM, Ecole Polyetchnique, Palaiseau, France

Martin Foldyna received the M.S. degree in information technologies and applied mathematics from the VSB-Technical University of Ostrava in 2002, and the Ph.D. degree in physics from the same university in 2005.
From 2005 to 2009, he was a Postdoctoral Researcher with the Laboratory of Physics of Interfaces and Thin Films (LPICM), Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau, France. From 2009 to 2010, he was a Guest Researcher with the National Institutes of Science and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USA. Since 2010, he has been a Tenured Researcher with the French National Centre for Scientific Research and LPICM. He is the author and coauthor 88 articles in peer-reviewed journals, and 20 technical papers in Proceedings of SPIE (Hindex =15). His research interests include optical modeling and characterization of materials and nanostructures, Mueller matrix polarimetry, metrology of microelectronics nanostructures, optimization of photovoltaic device performance, and applications of nanowires for solar cells.

Emilien Peytavit



IEMN - The Institute of Electronics, Microelectronics and Nanotechnology, Lille, France

He received his MSc from the "Ecole Centrale de Lille and PhD on thesis, ‘Génération et propagation aux fréquences térahertz. Since 2003 got post-doctoral position at CEA LETI, 'Laboratoire d'Infrarouge' and post-doctoral position at IEMN (EPIPHY group). Present research subject: passive devices for terahertz pulses optoelectronic THz generation: development of ultra-fast photodetectors and passive THz components and development of III-V semicondutor cantilevers dedicated to specific near-field microscopy.

Based on this research he published 97 articles in peer viewed journals and 500 citations ( Hindex =15) 

Antonín Fejfar



Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague 

Antonin Fejfar specializes to physics of thin films of nanostructured semiconductors for application in solar cells and photonics. He has authored or coauthored of more than 100 papers in international journals which have been received about 900 citations. He holds a physical microelectronics degree (1986) and Ph.D. (1991) from the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics of Charles University in Prague. He went for a post-doctoral stay and later as visiting profesor to Kyoto University, Japan  and since 1994 he works at the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences. He is a vicechairman of Scientific Board and a member of Academic Council of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, member of Scientific Board of Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of Brno University of Technology and a secretary of the Czech Nanoteam. He supervised students on undergraduate and graduate levels as well as high school students in the Open Science project. 

Markus Rösch



ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Markus Rösch received his Bachelor and Master of Science in Physics from the University of Bern, Switzerland in 2010, and 2012 respectively. In 2012 he joined the Quantum Optoelectronics group of Prof. J. Faist at ETH Zurich, Switzerland. He currently works towards his PhD degree, focusing on the development of broadband THz quantum cascade lasers and the frequency comb generation in such lasers.

Tom Seifert



Department of Physical Chemistry, Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, Berlin, Germany

Filip Kadlec



Laboratory of Terahertz Spectroscopy, Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic

uživatelský obsah - vždy jako první článek - nemazat!!!



Nano Ostrava


May 14-18